In Memory of Gilbert P. Garcia

It’s been a terribly long time ago since we strolled through the alleys in Friedberg …

You served in the US Army. I met you one evening and we talked a little. We met again and eventually regularly. We became friends, best friends during these few weeks that you still had to spend in Germany.
You were newly married and around the time we became friends your son was born. Oh, how proud you were! And so sad not to be with him and your wife. You were often very homesick.

However, we had a magical time and developed a wonderful friendship in just a few weeks. We felt like siblings.
Eventually the day came when you told me that you had to go back to the Texas. We both stood there and cried our eyes out. I felt like my twin was being snatched. We were so familiar. We were friends forever.
You said, ‚I have to see you one more time before I die‘.

The only contact we had in the 1970s was by writing letters. And so we wrote to each other. But the letters became fewer over the years. Finally they stopped altogether. After all our contact broke off.
Our lives were too far apart and our friendship intermingled with the ocean between the continents.

But I never forgot you.

About 40 years later, I am now retired and would have time to travel – even to Texas. So today I searched the internet to see if I could find any indications of your whereabouts or even an address.

What I found made me very sad. You just sneaked out of life without saying a word, not leaving us the chance to meet again.
You passed away on Sunday January 25, 2015 at the age of 63. I don’t know why you had to leave, but I know it was too early. I would have loved to have met your family. I would have loved to have met you once again.

Rest in peace and walk with God, my dear friend!

Erstelle eine Website wie diese mit WordPress.com
Jetzt starten